Disclosure: this guide is written by the FEMUEY team, and we make some of the boards below. Specs for other brands come from each maker’s official product page, checked on 10 October 2026; where a maker does not publish something, we say so. Prices change often, so check the store before you buy.
The short answer
Most electronic chess boards reach Lichess through an app on your phone: the board senses your moves and the phone handles the connection. Chessnut Air, GoChess Mini and DGT Pegasus work this way.
A few connect on their own. FEMUEY L6 Pro and FEMUEY Y2 play Lichess over Wi-Fi from the device itself, and Chessnut Evo has Lichess and Chess.com built into its screen. SenseRobot also supports Lichess, though its maker does not say whether an app is needed.
Which boards play Lichess without a phone?
| Board | Price | Lichess | Phone or app needed to play online? | Other platforms | Plays the computer without a phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FEMUEY L6 Pro | $208 | Yes | No, plays from the board over Wi-Fi | Lichess only | Yes, 2300 Elo on the board |
| FEMUEY Y2 | $78 | Yes | No, plays from the device over Wi-Fi | Lichess only | Yes, built-in opponent |
| Chessnut Evo | $629.99 | Yes | No, built into its 12.3-inch screen | Chess.com, ChessKid, Chessable | Yes, Stockfish and Maia |
| Chessnut Air | $249.99 | Yes | Yes, through an app | Chess.com | AI play through apps |
| GoChess Mini | $249.95 | Yes | Yes, through the app on a phone | Chess.com | 32 AI levels, through the app |
| DGT Pegasus | €189 | Yes | Yes, through the DGT Chess app on a phone | Not stated by the maker | No built-in engine |
| SenseRobot | $999 | Yes, a robotic arm plays each move | Not stated by the maker | Not stated by the maker | Yes, 25 levels, Elo 200–2900 |
FEMUEY prices at the time of writing; other brands from their official stores on 10 October 2026. DGT Centaur is not listed because it does not play online, and Millennium does not mention online play for ChessGenius Pro. More details on our comparison page.
How to start a Lichess game from FEMUEY L6 Pro
- Connect the board to Wi-Fi. L6 Pro’s network setup is guided by the app; you do this once.
- Set up the Lichess connection.
- Play. Switch the board on, wait until it is online, open Online Play mode and start a Lichess game. You move the pieces on the board; no phone or computer is needed during play.
Y2 works the same way once it is connected to Wi-Fi. The L6 Pro manual covers Wi-Fi setup; find it in our manuals.
What L6 Pro does when you are offline
- A 2300 Elo engine that runs on the board, with no Wi-Fi or phone.
- 1,000 built-in puzzles and custom endgame setup.
- Move hints, takebacks and game replay.
- Once it is online: more than 3,000 openings to practise, and game sync to the app for review.
When another board is a better fit
- You play mostly on Chess.com: Chessnut Evo plays it with no phone; Chessnut Air and GoChess Mini play it through an app. FEMUEY boards connect to Lichess.
- You want every piece recognised: Chessnut Air, Chessnut Evo or SenseRobot. L6 Pro senses moves magnetically; FEMUEY’s upcoming L8 adds individual piece recognition.
- You want your online opponent’s moves played for you: SenseRobot, whose robotic arm moves the pieces.
FAQ
Do I need a phone at all to play Lichess on FEMUEY L6 Pro?
Only for the one-time setup: the app guides you through connecting the board to Wi-Fi. After that you start and play Lichess games from the board, with no phone or computer.
Can I play Chess.com on a FEMUEY board?
FEMUEY L6 Pro and Y2 connect to Lichess. If Chess.com is your main platform, see Chessnut Evo, Chessnut Air or GoChess Mini.
Does FEMUEY P6 support Lichess?
No. P6 is a standalone, screen-free board for offline play and practice.
Does L6 Pro still work without Wi-Fi?
Yes. Its 2300 Elo engine, 1,000 puzzles and endgame practice all run on the board without a connection.
What warranty and returns come with FEMUEY boards?
Every FEMUEY board has a 1-year warranty. Hardware can be returned within 15 days of delivery, and in-stock orders ship worldwide within 72 hours of payment. See the FAQ for details.
Last updated: October 2026.

No comments yet
Be the first to share your insight